Visuel Pic du Midi 2
La Bibliothèque en 1930-2
La Cuisine en 1907
La Cuisine en 1907-3
Les pavillons de bois-3
Le ciel du Pic-2
Le ciel du Pic-5
L'hermine-4
Panorama Hiver - Secrets de Montagnes
TBL

Pic du Midi

Explore the epic history of the Pic du Midi, stepping back 100 years in time and reliving the human and scientific adventure of this unique observatory, the only one like it in the world – such is the brand new experience that awaits visitors to the Pic du Midi thanks to HistoPad.

HistoPad takes visitors on an immersive journey back in time, retracing the story of the observatory’s very first scientists. Through the use of 3D and rich media, the various rooms and spaces within the observatory have been entirely recreated in 360° as they might have been arranged and organised in the first half of the 20th century: the Baillaud dome (now converted into a planetarium), the gallery, the library, the kitchen, the sleeping dorm – all the areas the pioneers of the conquest of the stars, who made the Pic du Midi so famous and well-known, would have occupied as their living space.

Thanks to HistoPad, the visitor can admire, examine and investigate the exceptional panoramic landscape around the site in 360°, in all weathers, and no matter whether it’s summer or winter, day or night. They thus gain an appreciation of the full extent of the Pic du Midi International Dark Sky Reserve, which was established to protect the sky from the effects of light pollution. With HistoPad, the visitor also gets to explore the plants and wildlife of the Pyrenees, and even experience a perilous and risky extreme ski descent!

A special interactive 3D model enables the Pic to be both constructed and deconstructed, plunging the visitor right into the heart of the building site, from the laying of the very first stone in 1876 through to the major building works undertaken today.

Visuel Pic du Midi 2
La Bibliothèque en 1930-2
La Cuisine en 1907
La Cuisine en 1907-3
Les pavillons de bois-3
Le ciel du Pic-2
Le ciel du Pic-5
L'hermine-4
Panorama Hiver - Secrets de Montagnes
TBL

Pic du Midi

FRÉQUENTATION : ENVIRON 100 000 VISITEURS PAR AN

Faire découvrir l’épopée du Pic du Midi, revenir 100 ans en arrière et revivre l’aventure humaine et scientifique de cet observatoire unique au monde, telle est la nouvelle expérience qui attend tous les visiteurs du Pic du Midi avec l’HistoPad.

L’HistoPad emmène les publics dans un voyage immersif vers le passé, sur les traces des premiers scientifiques de l’observatoire. Grâce à la 3D et au Rich Media, des espaces ont été entièrement restitués à 360° tels qu’ils pouvaient être aménagés dans la première moitié du XXème siècle : la coupole Baillaud (aujourd’hui transformé en planétarium), la galerie, la bibliothèque, la cuisine et la chambre à coucher, tous des lieux de vie des pionniers de la conquête du ciel et des étoiles qui ont fait la renommée du Pic du Midi.

Grâce à l’HistoPad, le visiteur peut admirer et interroger à 360° le panorama exceptionnel qu’offre le lieu et ce par tous les temps, en été comme en hiver, de jour comme de nuit. Il mesure ainsi toute l’importance de la Réserve Internationale de Ciel Etoilé du Pic du Midi qui permet de protéger le ciel de la pollution lumineuse. Avec l’HistoPad, le visiteur découvre également la faune et la flore des Pyrénées, et peut même vivre une descente à ski extrême et périlleuse !

Une maquette 3D interactive permet de construire et déconstruire le Pic pour plonger au cœur du chantier, depuis la première pierre posée en 1876 jusqu’aux grands travaux d’aujourd’hui.

Site Web : picdumidi.com
Date : Décembre 2018