AIRBORNE - 2 C47 Aragonia 3
AIRBORNE - LANDING_ZONE_right 2
AIRBORNE - 3 Neptune - Fiere 2
AIRBORNE - Screenshot_20180413-111747
AIRBORNE - Screenshot_20180413-111658

Airborne Museum

Just a few miles from Utah Beach and the Normandy Landings, the Airborne Museum is located at the heart of Sainte-Mere-Eglise, facing the church on which paratrooper John Steele landed. Dedicated to the American paratroopers of the 82nd and 101st Airborne, it contains a truly exceptional collection of artifacts, including an authentic WACO glider and C-47 airplane.

The HistoPad allow the visitor to travel to the locations of some of the most important events of 1944, helping them discover and understand this fascinating history. The visitor is virtually “transported” to locations including the hamlet of La Fiere during the battle for Kellam Bridge on the morning of the 6th of June, 1944, or the château de la Colombiere, to see the field hospital of the 101st Airborne. Each experience is immersive, and the visitor can easily navigate between 1944 and 2018, allowing them to better understand that these places, which today are peaceful fields, were battlegrounds not so long ago.

The HistoPad gives voice to the artifacts in the Airborne Museum’s collection. The visitor can, thanks to the tablet, find clear and concise explanations on an object, manipulate it virtually, and discover its function and uses. The tablet also invites guests into previously inaccessible areas, such as the cockpit of the WACO glider, or the inside of the C-47.

Date: 15 May 2018

AIRBORNE - 2 C47 Aragonia 3
AIRBORNE - LANDING_ZONE_right 2
AIRBORNE - 3 Neptune - Fiere 2
AIRBORNE - Screenshot_20180413-111747
AIRBORNE - Screenshot_20180413-111658

Airborne Museum

FRÉQUENTATION : ENVIRON 100 000 VISITEURS PAR AN

A quelques kilomètres d’Utah Beach et des plages du Débarquement, l’Airborne Museum est situé au cœur de Sainte-Mère-Eglise, face au clocher sur lequel le parachutiste John Steele est resté suspendu. Il conserve une exceptionnelle collection d’objets historiques dédiée aux parachutistes américains des 82è et 101è Airborne, notamment un authentique planeur et un avion C-47 ayant participé aux opérations du 6 juin 1944.

Afin de mieux faire comprendre au visiteur l’histoire de Sainte-Mère-Eglise, la tablette HistoPad l’amène, virtuellement, sur les lieux même des événements de 1944. Le visiteur est par exemple « transporté» au lieu-dit de la Fière le 6 juin 1944 en fin de matinée lors des combats acharnés pour défendre le pont, ou encore au château de la Colombière quand il était l’hôpital de la 101ème Airborne. Dans chaque expérience immersive, le visiteur peut naviguer entre 1944 et 2018, et ainsi mieux comprendre que ces lieux aujourd’hui paisibles furent hier des champs de bataille.

L’HistoPad fait également parler les collections exposées : le visiteur peut, via sa tablette, obtenir une explication concise et vulgarisée sur un objet, le manipuler virtuellement pour en découvrir la fonction et en comprendre le fonctionnement ou encore accéder à des endroits inaccessibles comme le cockpit du planeur ou l’intérieur du C-47.

Date : 15 May 2018